Exercise is NOT Optional

Yesterday, I had a very low day.  Nothing seemed to be ok in my life.  I couldn’t find my gratitude, my progress or even a tiny ray of sunshine.  Today I realized what may have happened.  I cannot miss a day of exercise.  It’s not optional for me.  It’s a necessity for my mental well-being.

I think without really naming it, I’ve struggled with depression for a long time.  I’ve had a hard time throughout my whole life maintaining a consistent baseline with my mood.  I’m already an emotional person who’s equally analytical. So, in a nutshell, I feel deeply and I analyze it ’till no stone is left unturned.  Adding depression to this just ups the ante and puts a pretty negative light on the picture.

Coming home and feeling amazing after exercising today, I started to take serious notice of this phenomenon.  Yesterday, I didn’t exercise and felt really depressed.  Today, I exercise and feel great???  This relationship between whether I exercise and my mental state has WAY too much of a correlation to be a coincidence.

Exercise is Good for Your BrainSo, my analytical side kicked in and did some research.  Turns out, there are a number of studies that show this correlation between exercise as a treatment for mild to moderate depression.

recent research shows that exercise may be one of the best treatments for mild to moderate depression.  “Every day, there is more and more evidence,” says Harvard Medical School psychiatrist John J. Ratey, MD, the author of Spark: The Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and the Brain. ” – By WebMD Feature”  Read full article…

Huh..well you don’t have to convince me!  I’m living proof of it.

If it can do this much for someone with depression, imagine how it could change the life of someone without it.  How could your life change by giving yourself the gift of just 30 min. of vigorous exercise a day? Image

I’m under no illusion that exercise alone is going to make my life all better.  I realize that I’ve got a number of things to figure out before I feel like my life is on track.

But you know what?

I think that the odds are in my favor that it’s gonna be a whole lot easier to come up with solutions when I don’t have to simultaneously try to lift up a heavy black cloud from my head in order to think clearly.

And I’ll take those odds any day.

With love from aneternaltraveler 😉

Leave a Reply

