Don’t Be Afraid to Ask for Help

Each day when I come home my Personal Trainer Study Manual confronts me from my coffee table.  Sometimes I can almost hear it mockingly say, I dare you to finish! Tee hee hee.

Some days I point a finger right back and say in my best witchy voice, “I’ll get you my pretty Ahahahaha!!”  Other days, I’m convinced it’s gotten the best of me.

Today, however I took a radical new approach.

I asked for help.

I’ve been feeling pretty overwhelmed whenever I flip through over 200 pages of material and even more charts and interactive features online.  I wondered when I would finish or how I would get it all into my head and ever feel prepared.  I couldn’t see the forest from the trees anymore.

So, I took a shot at emailing the instructor/owner of the program explaining that I was going to be taking the test soon.  I simply asked, “What should I be focusing on?” and “What kinds of questions are on the test?”

help-me-obi-wan-kenobi

I got an answer back that surprised and relieved me.  I knew what to concentrate on and what was expected to be reference material that I’d come back to throughout my days as a certified personal trainer.  I was pleased to see we were on the same page after all.

This taught me a valuable lesson.

Never be afraid to ask for help.

I could have saved myself 3 months of daily worry about this and been able to focus my attention better  if I had just asked these questions from the very start.  Instead, I let my assumptions run wild and I was no better off for it.  In fact I was far more anxious from when I began.

I cannot get that time back.  

However, what I’ve gained is a better understanding and I also saved myself from another 3 months of worry by asking today.

It is never a bad idea or too late to ask for help.  Being overwhelmed happens to all of us sometimes.

Just ask for help.  

There’s no shame in it.  And there are a lot of added perks.

First and foremost you are reminded that being perfect was never that fun anyway ;),  second of all you never were, and lastly that’s perfectly ok.

Make a connection. Ask for help.

With love from aneternaltraveler 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

