30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge

Over the past couple of months I feel like I began packing in the food as if I were going to hibernate sometime in the near future.  If anything sweet or carb-loaded entered my visual sphere, I was taking it down!  I know I’m not alone in this.  It seems to hit almost everybody when the cold weather moves in.

Unfortunately, I didn’t hibernate so I was left to go through my day feeling really sluggish and noticing that I’ve been gaining weight in the process. I decided something needs to change.

greencsmoothiecompressWelcome to my 30-day green smoothie challenge!!

My plan is to replace one meal per day with a green smoothie in order to reboot my whole system.  Additionally, I will make every effort to replace my unhealthy snacks with fruits and/or veggies instead.

Originally I thought I’d start on Jan. 1, but I said why wait? and started on Sunday.  So, I am actually posting here on day 4.

Current ingredients:
(makes 32-40 oz)
2 handfuls of kale or 2 cups of spinach
1-2 carrots
1 mango
1 navel orange
1 banana
water to smooth it into a drink
optional: 25 g casein protein powder, 25 g whey protein powder

DAY 1-3

The first few days, I didn’t notice much except going to the bathroom a lot more.  This concentrated amount of fiber has got to come out somewhere 🙂 Also, I felt really hungry like my body was rebelling and telling me to turn back now and order some Veal Parmesan with Spaghetti.

DAY 4 

By day 4 I notice a lot of other interesting changes.  First of all, my taste buds seem to be changing.  I’m actually craving veggies and fruits.  My bad cravings are going away – ie. no interest in cheese! I am a cheese-a-holic so this is unbelievable! Also, I have a low interest in dark meats like beef (even my dear old friend Veal Parm is not calling my name like it used to).  Instead of wanting chocolate when I’m craving something sweet, I pick up a piece of fruit.

This is a pretty interesting  experience for me.  It seems like you can actually change what you crave by changing what you eat. It is not some fixed thing that you have to spend your time resisting when you decide to change your eating habits.

Before doing the green smoothie challenge, changing my diet still left me craving the not so great food choices.  Just 4 days into it, my brain seems to be naturally choosing better options.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress and if you have a story you’d like to share about  your own green smoothie experience, please comment below!

Here’s to a healthier, happier 2014!!

With love from aneternaltraveler 😉

Leave a Reply

