Camino de Santiago – Day 1

image

I sit here on the plane to Madrid en route to begin the Camino de Santiago tomorrow. I think about why I am taking this journey and how grateful I am for what I do have in my life.

I’ve spent so much of my life not wanting “strings attached”. I saw the things I had, wanted to have, and the people who loved me as anchors – things that weighed me down.  I came to believe that the more you commit, the fewer the options you have. The fewer the options, the less enjoyable life becomes. I wasn’t going to fall into that trap. So I set my life up like that – to keep people at a distance.

Lately I’ve noticed that something is changing. I am letting people in and starting to trust for the first time. Oddly enough, it’s been feeling good to be attached.

It amuses me that for years I could not find love. Yet one month before I head out on a major spiritual journey, love enters my life. Now, I believe the universe provides, much like they say the camino does for each pilgrim so I can’t help but believe there is a reason for the timing of this. As if I needed to experience this before I went.

I am certain of one thing – I am beginning the camino  at a very different starting point inside and further along my “way”.

Buen Camino – aneternaltraveler 😉

Leave a Reply

