Camino de Santiago – A very hard day

image

This has been one of the very hardest days I’ve had. My feet were in chronic pain for 10 of the 15 miles I walked today. I could only take baby steps for the last few miles. I thought I might never arrive.

It reminded me of those movies where you see someone walking in the desert looking for water & seeing only one mirage after the other. The sun was blazing. There was very little interesting scenery and my trek-buddy Gibbs, said he’d catch up after he went to church. We never found each other. So it was one long, quiet painful walk.

image

At least it ended in me finding a free bed in an alburgue run by the local church parish in Estella and a vino tinto to cure what ails me (hopefully). 

Buen camino aneternaltraveler 😉

3 thoughts on “Camino de Santiago – A very hard day”

Leave a Reply

