Gratitude Challenge – Day 1 of 30

wpid-screenshot_2014-08-16-19-49-03-1.pngSo here we go. Day 1 of 30 in my gratitude challenge.  Today, we are asked to write about gratitude for “home”.

Coming home from having virtually no privacy on the camino, I am very grateful for the “lack of people” in my house and some peace and quiet.  I was so used to being surrounded by people in the common shower, the sleeping area, the stairwells. Unless, I went to the bathroom and closed the stall door, I didn’t get much “alone time” at the end of the day.  

I appreciate the comfort of couch cushions :), my own shower without flip flops, a washing machine, and the same wonderful bed night after night.  I also appreciate the simplicity of my home.  A year or so ago, I got rid of a lot of excess. Coming home after carrying all I needed as 10 lbs on my back, it was a far easier transition.

It is really striking how much one can appreciate such seemingly simple things that we mostly take for granted in our homes. Sometimes it takes being away and without to appreciate what it means to come home and have so much.

With love from aneternaltraveler 😉

Leave a Reply

