You Turned Away

You Turned Away

by: aneternaltraveler

You turned away

What can I say?

It was so long

And now it’s gone

*****

You broke my heart

It’s been hard

You’ve shut me out

Left me with the just the shards

*****

You turned away

What can I say?

It was so long

And now it’s gone

*****

I wonder if you remember

To the moon and beyond

Laughing in September

Your brown-eyed girl

*****

You turned away

What can I say?

It was so long

And now it’s gone

*****

Now that I’m gone,

Your heart searches for me longingly behind my back

You’re still in love with me,

But listen too much to others about what I lack

While I’m reaching out to you in front

You keep it up – telling other people I’m a cunt

*****

You turned away

What can I say?

It was so long

And now it’s gone

*****

Your pride keeps you hidden stubbornly from view

Without advisors you don’t know what to do

Your whole life, the love of it, slips away

Because “I’m sorry” is something you can’t bring yourself to say

*****

You turned away

What can I say?

It was so long

And now it’s gone

Leave a Reply

